Tooled leather furniture

Tooled leather furniture

It feels just like yesterday I was making keychains for friends and my tools were mere toys. For the last year everyday I have, yes everyday worked on some sort of creation and/or organized, straightened my shop.  I once heard you won’t know where you are in life with a business until 3 years has transpired.

I’m a perfectionist, finicky and have a horrible sense of colors. However I do like using bold and vibrant or deep and rich. I completed so many pieces that I thought were shown stopping quality of which it took seconds to ruin. More times than less I immediately cut in half and discard. It saves me further aggravation of what I should have….

So here I am with store on  acrossleather.com , a designer with Janet Deleuse on the San Francisco Bay Tiburon CA.  deleuse.com and now partnered with Ernie Apodaca originally from Oregon.  Since 1998 Ernie’s been building from the ground up custom leather furniture in Arizona.

I was introduced to Ernie through Linda Lee Reid who has been a designer in leather a lifetime. Creating for Mick Jagger, Willie Nelson, Waylon and beyond. To me, I was floored,tooled leather (2) tooled leather (3) tooled leather (4) tooled leather (5) tooled leather (6) tooled leather have been and still am overwhelmed with excitement. I cannot construct the sentence that pay gratitude enough for entrusting me as a person, a friend and an Artist for the opportunities at hand. Gratitude I am not short on.  Linda, Ernie and family thank you!

This is a  what’s going on in my life and thought I would share a few positive words with you. With all the new things in my world about I would like to say, dog collars and belts are very rewarding to me. Working closely with people or owners of Dogs brings much joy to me. I think most of my clients are just as thrilled if not more to be a functioning part of their creation. As I feel I wear them out with options along the way. All in goodness and bringing to life their exact and some desires.

Today I have included some pics of getting a tooled leather furniture chair arm started. Cutting the saddle skirting to size leaving a little extra. Wetting and or casing the leather 10-12 oz. Letting it dry on the top til it’s back to normal color but still wet internally. It’s at that time you can transfer your template image. Then carve with swivel knife.

 

One thought on “Tooled leather furniture

Leave a Reply

