Designs “Across Leather”

About me http//:@acrossleather.com aka. Lawrence E. Carter Jr. 51 years young and “Leatherworking” for me started in the very early nineties. A hobby it was as compared to the welding career starting after high school and trade school “Wilmington Skill Center” i980. Health problems forced me out of my so I thought lifelong career.

Fast forwarding to my actual selling on etsy was Apr of 2012 but a month later decided I was converting my back porch into my new studio. Construction was done(95%) Nov. 2012 that’s when I say I put it in high gear. At least the last 10 yrs I’ve wanted to open a shop. Fear of the unknown in a nutshell.

However I know no failure and when I start something I go full in. Today, I live and breathe leatherwork. I cannot wait to start everyday and without a second thought I go directly to it. Leatherworker has so many facets, capabilities and can get lost in the world of creativity.

I only have the one shop here on etsy. That’s one fear I possess is there isn’t gonna be enough of me to get the work done.  But it’s not work. It only becomes work when you rush or feel hurried. The Zen of Leatherwork is nothing can be rushed and there’s one thing that will happen. It will be ruined. Leatherwork, airbrushing, stitching and as of recent running a sewing machine has all been self taught and a rocky road it was. In my life there was no one to ask about anything. I guess everyones an easy teach when they’re interested in some subject.

Craft shows.., no I never have but would like to. I’ve had my eye set on Brandywine Arts Festival for the last 10 years solid. If I could relive my 1st months here I would of started my Word press.com blog first. Then my Google+ local business page which can be verified with your WordPress blog. WP charges nothing and host you for free. Then all other social marketing can be added to your WP blog and do one post which will go everywhere you like it to. Across Leather on WordPress, Tumblr, Facebook, Pinterest,Wanelo,Stumbleupon(great views generated)Google+, Linked in is a big one. I’m connected to 1.2 mil there alone. I was sharing ideas with Cathy from Juliano’s Corner and she’s averaging 20,000 views a month on etsy. If you got the time to put the work in…. My saying you get out what you put into it.

I’m very appreciative there is an etsy. It has been my family and many a folk help brighten my day here. For instance Lisa here asking, hey I want to do a post on your shop. I almost fell over. I was like so cool!  I do want say, if you’re reading this. These gals put a ton of effort into organizing our teams and think there should be way more participation from us. They do this to get starting with themselves(2 makes a group) and everybody else more views. So don’t expect miracles when you’re riding the bench. Get up make Treasury, use the color scheme, the aweteam tag. It makes it soooo much easier omg! Marsha;)

Leave a Reply

